top of page

Bowie Blast -- Week of May 14

Student Newspaper Wins Awards for the Year…

The Dispatch won state awards from the UIL/ILPC. For the third straight year the staff was awarded The Bronze Star for newspaper excellence from UIL/ILPC. There were just 13 schools in the state awarded stars this year and we were one of them. Bowie staff had an outstanding showing individually, with 43 total awards, 30 for the print edition and 13 for our online product. The staff deserves to brag, winning seven national staff awards this year including a Silver Crown from CSPA, 2 Best in Show awards from JEA, All-Southern from SIPA, First Place from ASPA, The Bronze Star from UIL/ILPC and were First Class with Honor from NSPA. Individually, students won 13 national awards and a staggering 77 state awards. We had five students qualify for UIL regionals and 10 place in the top-6 at district.

And our seniors have been instrumental in winning awards - Violet Glenewinkel, Mia Barbosa, Victoria Newell, Madison Austin, Shelby Kelly, Cara Andres, Justine Lockhart, Avy Freidman, Ashley Ramirez, Kathleen Nguyen, Kiran Patel. During their time on staff as a group they have won 14 individual national awards and 94 state awards. Violet Glenewinkel leaves the program as the most decorated student in school history with 3 national and 26 state awards. Mia Barbosa was 3 national awards and 14 state awards. Victorial Newell won 1 national and 12 state awards. As a group, they have won a Silver Crown, 4 Best in Shows at National Conventions, 3 Bronze Stars, 3 Gold Medals from CSPA, 2 Sweepstake awards from TAJE, 3 First Class Honor Ratings from NSPA, 3 First place awards from ASPA, and 1 Best in Show at the state level. Ultimate Frisbee Team State Champs…

Our Bowie Ultimate Frisbee team competed in the State Championship in Plano and swept it! They won all 6 games against LASA, Hyde Park, NPA, Marcus HS, Coppell, and St. Thomas and were awarded the 1st place trophy. The 2017-2018 team is - Caroline Myers, Erik Atwell, Francis Lasta, Gabriel Gardner-King, Jacob Ploeger, Jake Worthington, Jason Trevino, Jessica Leonard, Kaya Bertetta, Luke Broderick, Luke Severson, Luke Smith, Markus Fagerberg, Martin Wnorowski, Megan Bell, Noah Hane, Rei Esaka,

Reilly McCarthy, Ryan Wells, Summer Wilson, Tyler Boyd, Vadim Kirillov, and Will Waldman. Thank you to Coach Luis Torres, Coach Domenica Sutherland and Sponsor Kelly Tagle.

UIL Current Events Team Places 3rd at State Meet…

The Current Issues and Events team placed third at the UIL Academic State Meet. The team is composed of Zach Houdek, Jack Maedgen, Brianna Rodriguez and Amy Shreeve.

The Lone Star Yearbook Receives ILPC Awards…

From the statewide ILPC/UIL Journalism, the Volume 29 Lone Star Yearbook from the 2016-2017 school year received a Gold Star, the second in a row and one of only six awarded in the state. Editors-in-chief were Carlyn Crow, Mariana Medina & Samantha Robarts with adviser Deanna Dellana. Additionally, Volume 29 received the following individual awards: 1st Place Sports Feature photo: Jessica Leonard; 3rd place Theme Copy & Captions: Carlyn Crow; Honorable Mention Multi Topic Spread:Karen Chahda, Brooke Winn & Olivia Hanna.

This year’s Lone Star Volume 30 yearbook received five individual awards for preliminary work sent in:

1st Place Academic-Focused Spread (Ready Set Teach): Keely Briggs, Amelie Hayne, & Taylor Snyder; 1st Place Club/Organization-Focused Spread (Bowie Buddies): Abby Ong & Emily Breach; 1st Place Story (Walk out): Abby Ong & Emily Breach; 2nd Place Sports-Focused Spread (Silver Stars): Kate Chidester & Evie O'Leary; Honorable Mention Feature

Bowie Baseball 2018 District Co-Champions…

Head Coach Sam Degelia won “Coach of the Year” at the Baseball 2018 14-6A All District Meeting. Other District Awards announced were: New Comer of the Year—Peyton Benesh; 1st Team All District includes: Kobe Poehl (pitcher), Jonathan Mendez (2nd base), Seth Werchan (outfielder), Owen Burkle (outfielder), Jacob Ledesma (outfielder), Andrew Noak (utility fielder). 2nd Team All District includes: Aaron MacInvale (pitcher); Honorable Mention: Matthew Wheeler, Nick Powers, and Cody Gray

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page