top of page

Bowie Blast -- Week of May 12

Ultimate Frisbee: The team is State Champs for the 2nd year in a row! Bowie Ultimate fielded two teams at the state tournament in Plano, 1 Mixed and 1 Men’s. Our mixed (co-ed) team won their division.

Marching Band: Several Bowie students competed nationally and earned a spot in a World Class Marching Band. Natalie Stachew will be joining the Santa Clara Vanguard, Aaron Owens will join the Bluecoats, and Bryce Roddenberry will be joining the Boston Crusaders. Look for them in Drum Corps International performances including the DCI Southwestern Championship on July 20 in San Antonio.

ILPC/UIL Journalism: Yearbook Volume 30 1st place Feature Spread: Cassie Gutierrez for the ACL spread, 2nd place organization-focused spread: Taylor Snyder & Adrean Algarinfor Cabaret, 3rd place photo portfolio: Lauren Warhola with photos of football, drumline & wrestling. Volume 30 received a Silver Star, led by Editors-in-Chief Rachel Baschnagel, Jocelyn Brooks & Claire Meyer. Additionally, Volume 30 received the following individual awards in 6A: 1st place portrait and Tops in Texas (best out of all classifications): Sarah Baber for her photo of newspaper editor Violet Glenewinkel, 1st Place Headlines: Staff. 2nd Place Student Life Feature story: Abby Ong & Emily Breach for their story on Ava Nielsen's summer trip to Thailand. 3rd place class spread: Kendall Oh & Sarah Baber for personality profile on art student Avery Oh.

ILPC/UIL Journalism: The Dispatch Preston Rolls was award as the Photo Editor of the Year. The Dispatch online won a Silver Star (first Star for online!!!) The Dispatch print won a Bronze Star (4 straight) Newspaper staff members won 33 Individual Achievement Awards in 6A: Preston Rolls - 9 awards including 4 1st place entries, Abby Ong - 4 awards including 2 1st place entries, Cianna Chairez - 4 awards including 1 1st place entries, Ian Miller - 3 awards with 2 1st place entries, Sam Blas - 3 awards with 2 1st place entries, Rey Gray - 2 awards, Maddy Rice - 2 awards

BotDawgs: The BotDawgs won a Maker of Merit blue ribbon. Congratulations to Luca Leroux, Arushi Sharma, Alex Garcia, Graydon Carlton, Bradley Mixon, Joseph Byron and Conner Petru. ​

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page